Milparinka Heritage Precinct
The Milparinka Courthouse
Built in 1896 The courthouse was designed by James Barnet, the same architect who designed the Sydney Post Office and Bathurst Gaol. Comprising four rooms, the main section has been devoted to Local History Interpretation displayed though simple snapshots interpretations of the communities early beginnings. Video and audio interpretations complete the experience.
A separate room is devoted to Aboriginal heritage, and another to the region’s first European explorer, Charles Sturt. The fourth room is the local area’s Family History Research Room where records of local births, deaths and marriages, war history and family stories are on display.
Located adjacent to the Courthouse the Barracks or former police station was built in 1883. Acquired in 2003, the building was restored and is now an art and photographic gallery, gift shop and tourist information centre.
This is where visitors will gather for a chat with a volunteer, to buy a souvenir, or to ask for directions to other attractions or accommodation places.
The Police Cells Gallery
The former cells are located immediately behind the Barracks, and comprise two rooms and a security fenced "exercise yard". The building has its original 1883 solid doors and sliding bolts. The building is used as a Mining Interpretive Centre. The central feature of the displays is an original 1884 map of the area, and some working models of equipment used in the early days.
The Harry Blore Memorial Park
Located across the road from the Precinct is an area with a picnic table and shelter as well as panels with local environmental interpretive material. A swing has been built for visiting children.
Milparinka Pioneer Memorial Wall and Silhouette
In 2005 local residents constructed a stone memorial wall alongside the park, and invited the descendants of local families to provide plaques commemorating their ancestors. Complemented by a steel silhouette of a pioneer family and a wheel barrow laden with belongings, the site is positioned to be seen first as one approaches the town. It is stark and symbolic of the region's social history.
Pastoral Industry Interpretive Centre (The Shed)
On the north side of the Heritage Precinct the Association has establish a shed and display area that helps to interpret the pastoral industry of the region, and includes information about :
- The wool industry, and especially shearing
- Providing water, with a complete boring plant and pump jack on display
- Building fences, animal husbandry grazing pressure management,
- Weed, pest and kangaroo management
The Milparinka Heritage Trail
There are a number of heritage sites in Milparinka that require historic interpretation. Close to the Barracks are interpretive panels along a walkway that link the towns history to the Evelyn Creek. The original streets have been surveyed and marked with signs, and markers been placed adjacent to the most significant locations. A guide to the most significant locations is available from the Courthouse and Barracks.
Milparinka Cemetery Located just west of the township, the Milparinka cemetery is the final resting place of some three hundred or so people, although just a handful have headstones.
The Evelyn Creek and Milparinka Waterhole lie to the east of the Heritage Precinct. Native animals living along the creek include kangaroos and birds, as well as, as one Volunteer discover, echidnas.
An entry fee does apply, with funds raised used to continue the restoration of the buildings and to improve visitor experiences. Donations are also always welcome.
Please contact us for more information or call the Milparinka Visitor Centre on 08 80913862 or 08 80912524
Food, Fuel and Emergency Services
Outback NSW is very well serviced by food and fuel outlets as well as emergency services but the Counter Country is more remote so good planning is the key to safe outback travel.
The following downloadable file highlights what is available in the Corner Country; download, and even print a copy, as a ready reckoner.